Feb 24, 2016 How To 0 comment

How do I use Reactions on Facebook?

(Last Updated On: March 6, 2019)

On February 24th, 2016 Facebook introduced everyone to a new feature where you can use Emoji Likes on a post. Instead of expressing yourself with a simple like you can now use an Emoji. This new option allows you to express how your feel in a more clear way. There are four new Liking options when you click the Like Button below a post in your newsfeed. FB announced today that these are available globally on all Facebook newsfeeds.

Here’s how you use the new Reaction Likes.

  1. Select the photo on your Facebook Feed you want to “Like”
  2. Below the post you have three options, you can Like, Comment or Share.
  3. Using your mouse Hover over the “Like” option without clicking, this will bring up your Emoji Options!
  4. You can now select one of Four Reaction types, for example you can choose to Love, HAHA, WOW, SAD or ANGRY Emoji!

Here’s how to use the new Reactions on Mobile:

  1. To add a reaction, hold down the Like button on mobile or hover over the Like button on desktop to see the reaction image options, then tap either Like, Love, Haha, Wow, Sad or Angry.


You can choose the Love, WOW, HAHA, SAD and ANGRY reactions now below any post on Facebook.


How will you use the new Reactions on Facebook?

Now that Facebook offers this new option do you think it’s a better way to Like a post? I think it will give users a better way to express their type of like. Now it’s not just about liking but actually giving better feedback to the person posting. It also adds a new element of fun with the color of the emoji and the new options.

Are there any other Emoji you would like to see? I think the 4 new options pretty much cover all the emotions a person would need to express themselves on Facebook. It will be interesting to see how long it takes for them to roll this type of behavior into Instagram.

For now it appears you can only use the Emoji on Facebook Posts. You’re unable to use them on Websites or Fan Pages.

There are now Five Reactions available as you can see from the screenshot below:


Here are the Following Reactions listed individually that you can use on any post on Facebook.

Here is the Love Reaction:


Here is the HAHA Reaction:

Here is the WOW Reaction:

Here is the SAD Reaction:

Here is the ANGRY Reaction:

For now it appears there are only Five Reactions you can choose from. In the beta testing they also had a YAY Reaction but it doesn’t appear they chose to include it in this release. Hopefully over the few months we’ll start to see people adopt this new feature. After looking at posts you can clearly see people are still preferring the simple “Like” over the new options but I think over time we’ll see a greater use of these new Emoji type Likes.

You can read more here: https://www.thrillist.com/news/nation/facebook-reaction-buttons